Fitness, General, Health, News
Leave a Comment

“Abs”olutely Disturbing

So, last week, there was an 8 1/2 month pregnant model proudly posting pics her rock hard abs on Instagram.  Immediately, I judged…yeah, I admit it.  It pissed me off.   Here we go again–the cultural obsession in our society on beauty and here again displayed were an example of unattainable standards.  I admit she looked great–but then–I was like–this is disturbing.  Being pregnant and having oblique abs is an UNREALISTIC expectation and no woman should strive to be in this physical condition.   In fact, the doctor warns of ab exercises during pregnancy. This woman is a model—she gets paid to look great and amazing for a living!  She is not the norm–she was blessed with amazing genes–freak genes perhaps!  I do believe both pregnant and even non-pregnant women should take inventory of their beauty in other ways– how are you with others?, how do you treat yourself?, what messages do you tell yourself?, are you a positive person?, do you have integrity?, do you like to smile?, can you live in the moment?. etc….

Many women often face depression after  baby because they are transitioning to their new body–and frankly the body is not the same!  I had two kids in 2.5 years and I’m still getting used to my new body!  The first time I jumped into Crossfit in less than a year I had my eldest son, Jacob–and I was pretty strong and back to being fit in less than a year–but then, Nico came along, and I had a harder time with him with the weight–still do.  But it’s okay….I’m finding my new healthy!

Hollywood is obsessed with female celebrities who can bounce back to being sexy and beautiful like 6 weeks, 2 months, 4 months after baby!  So many women feel down about themselves of their weight gain that and have a hard time getting off–of perhaps, this is their new normal.

Well–to all those pregnant women or postpartum women who felt a tinge of insecurity with this–no worries–you are BEAUTIFUL with or without your six pack of abs!  Don’t let society tell you what it beautiful.  You don’t need Instagram or Facebook to validate your worthiness either! Bam!

This entry was posted in: Fitness, General, Health, News

by

Texas girl at heart who loves her family time, Filipino heritage. fitness, food, friends, and her career as a therapist! I'm a little girly but can hang with the boys any day! I've got 2 of my own! I enjoy people, and hearing their stories. Feel free to drop me a line and say hi!

Leave a comment